Contact Details

T: +250 73 912 6745

C: +250 73 912 6745


National University of Rwanda

The National University of Rwanda was the largest university in Rwanda. It was located at 2°36′58″S 29°44′34″E in the city of Butare and was established in 1963 by the government in cooperation with the Congregation of the Dominicans from the Province of Quebec, Canada.

When it was established, the NUR had three divisions (Faculties of Medicine and Social Sciences, and a Teacher Training College), 51 students and 16 lecturers. The university suffered badly during the genocide and had to close in 1994, reopening in April 1995. At that time English was introduced as a medium of instruction alongside French.

As of 2005 it focused on Science and Technology and Humanities, with French and English as the medium of instruction.

Related News